Loading Events

Music of the Sea Symposium

June 10 - June 11

The Music of the Sea Symposium, hosted June 10-11, 2016, features presentations by maritime scholars and explores the interaction between sea, music, and song. As an integral part of the Sea Music Festival, this two-day collaborative program between Mystic Seaport and the University of Connecticut at Avery Point explores subjects from history and folklore, to literature, ethnomusicology, and any aspect of music or verse of the sea or inland waters from the Age of Sail through the present day.

The Friday, June 10 session will be held at the University of Connecticut at Avery Point in Groton, CT and admission is free. The Saturday, June 11 session will be held at Mystic Seaport (Museum admission is required). Directions to the UConn Avery Point Auditorium can be found on the UConn Avery Point website. Please park in the Visitor Parking or in Lots A or B.

Symposium Schedule

Friday, June 10, 2016 – 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Auditorium, University of Connecticut at Avery Point
Moderator: Craig Edwards

  • 8:30 a.m. – Coffee and morning refreshments
  • 9 a.m. – Official Welcome
  • 9:15 a.m. – Clayton Parr and Philip Meyer, Albion College, “ ‘Hitchhike 1919’: Great Lakes Sailing Songs from the Journals of Franz Rickaby”
  • 10 a.m. – Margaret Smith, Independent Scholar, “Music Aboard an Aircraft Carrier during World War II as Exemplified by The Children’s Songbook of the 33rd SCU
  • 10:45 a.m. – Morning break
  • 11 a.m. – Mary K. Bercaw Edwards, University of Connecticut, “ ‘Heartening the Weaklings’: The Fraught Relationship between Labor and Music in Jack London’s Early Works”
  • 11:45 a.m. – Tim Radford, Independent Scholar, “Rhapsodic Sea Sentiments”
  • 12:30 p.m. – Lunch
  • 1:45 p.m. – Glenn Gordinier, Williams College, “Connecticut Women and the War of 1812 in Song”
  • 2:30 p.m. – Afternoon break
  • 2:45 p.m. – Stephen Sanfilippo, Maine Maritime Academy and University of Maine at Machias, “‘SINGING in the FLOW’: Three Rivers, Three Ballads, Six Stories”
  • 3:30 p.m. – Mary Garvey, Independent Scholar, “Themes Emerging from a Collection of Salmon Songs”

Saturday, June 11, 2016 – 9:30 a.m.
Greenmanville Church, Mystic Seaport
Moderator: Craig Edwards

  • 9 a.m. – Coffee
  • 9:20 a.m. – Official welcome
  • 9:30 a.m. – Bob Zentz, Independent Scholar, “Shackleton’s Banjo Man”
  • 10:15 a.m. – Craig Edwards, Mystic Seaport, “‘Sing, Now, and Raise the Dead’: Unburying the Chantey”
  • 11 a.m. – Morning break
  • 11:15 a.m. – Michelle Moon, Museum Studies Program, Harvard University Extension, “A Horse of a Different Color: Re-examining the Dead Horse Ceremony Through Travelers’ Accounts”