America and the Sea Award

Presented annually by Mystic Seaport since 2006, the America and the Sea Award recognizes an individual or organization whose contributions to the history, arts, business or sciences of the sea best exemplify the American spirit and character. Here are the Museum’s America and the Sea Award recipients.

Nathaniel Philbrick: 2015

Mystic Seaport honored historian and author Nathaniel Philbrick with the 2015 America and the Sea Award on October 14, at a gala held in New York City.

(left to right) Mystic Seaport President Steve White, Charles A. Robertson, and Chairman of the Museum's Board of Trustees J. Barclay Collins, II

Charles A. Robertson: 2014

Mystic Seaport honored Charles A. Robertson with the Museum’s America and the Sea Award on November 5, 2014. Robertson is founder, chairman and CEO of American Cruise Lines, Inc., Pearl Sea Cruises, Chesapeake Shipbuilding, and affiliated companies. His firms have designed and built 12 small cruise ships and approximately 70 other commercial vessels, up to 320 feet.

Gary Jobson: 2013

Jobson’s talent, enthusiasm, and dedication to the art of sailing have inspired expert and novice sailors around the world. A champion sailor, he was awarded his first trophy, the Powell Trophy, in 1966 and won the America’s Cup with Ted Turner in 1977. In 1999 he won the Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy, U.S. Sailing’s most prestigious award. He has also won the infamous Fastnet Race and many of the world’s ocean races.

Jon Wilson

Jon Wilson and WoodenBoat: 2012

The 2012 America and the Sea Award was given to Jon Wilson and WoodenBoat for their commitment to the celebration and preservation of the skills, treasures, and traditions of the sea and shore.

J. F. Lehman

John F. Lehman: 2011

Former Secretary of the Navy, historian, and author John F. Lehman was the recipient of the America and the Sea Award for 2011 by Mystic Seaport.

Sylvia Earle

Sylvia A. Earle: 2010

Sylvia A. Earle, who has been at the forefront of deep ocean exploration for four decades, received the 2010 America and the Sea Award from Mystic Seaport.

William I. Koch

William I. Koch: 2009

William I. Koch, founder of the Oxbow Group, philanthropist, avid collector and world-renowned sailor, was named the recipient of the 2011 America and the Sea Award by Mystic Seaport.

Thomas B. Crowley Jr.

Thomas B. Crowley Jr.: 2008

Thomas B. Crowley Jr., Chairman, President and CEO of Crowley Maritime Corporation, was honored with Mystic Seaport’s third annual America and the Sea Award at a gala dinner held at the Rainbow Room in New York City.

David McCullough

David McCullough: 2007

Pulitzer Prize-Winning Author and Historian David McCullough was honored with the second annual America and the Sea Award presented by Mystic Seaport.