2013 Sailing Hall of Fame

NSHOF Class of 2013

Front row (L-R): Stu Walker, Steve Taylor, grandson accepting for W. Starling Burgess, Runnie Colie, Jr. (seated), Timmy Larr, Richard Rosenfeld, grandson accepting for Morris Rosenfeld. Middle row: Julia Clough, granddaughter accepting for John Gale Alden, Frank Butler. Last row: Brooke Blackaller Prairie, daughter accepting for Tom Blackaller, Dave Curtis, Lisa Blackaller Williams, daughter accepting for Tom Blackaller, Bill Buchan. Photo: NSHOF

ANNAPOLIS – The National Sailing Hall of Fame announced the induction of ten of the sport’s significant heroes into the Hall, including two individuals with ties to Mystic Seaport.

The induction ceremony was held for the first time in the organization’s hometown of Annapolis, MD and on the site of its future facility at City Dock in the historic waterfront district.

Three-time U.S. Women’s Sailing Champion Timothea “Timmy” Larr from Oyster Bay, NY is only the second woman to be inducted. Larr, a two-time Yachtswoman of the Year (1961, 1965), is a former trustee of Mystic Seaport, serving on the Board for a period of 36 years beginning in 1976.

“To be even considered to be in this group of superstars… it’s unbelievable. Thank you,” Larr was quoted in a press release. “I stand here to accept this honor not for me, but for all the teams I’ve worked with. I couldn’t have done anything without my crews; we were always a team. I may have been recognized for the honor, but it was they who actually made it all happen.”

A naval architect, Larr’s competitive accomplishments in the 1960s put her in the forefront of the sport at a time when it was rare to see a woman at the top of the podium. More recently, her pioneering contributions in standardizing the sail training program in the U.S. was the catalyst for similar programs for judges and race committee officials.

Morris Rosenfeld in 1938

Morris Rosenfeld on the job in 1938. ©Mystic Seaport, Rosenfeld Collection, Charles Edwin Bolles, photographer.

Also honored posthumously was Morris Rosenfeld (1885-1968) who was the foremost marine photographer of his time. Born in Hungary, Rosenfeld grew up in New York and was taking his first photographs at the age of 13 with an ancient box camera, and by age 19 he was recording the sport of sailing. He worked with the leading yacht photographer of the day, Edwin Levick, and studied art at Cooper Union. In 1910 he established his own studio in Manhattan. The firm grew as Morris’ sons David, Stanley, and William joined the business.

Rosenfeld’s love of the water led him to concentrate his photography on maritime activities that would eventually become the centerpiece of a historical collection – acquired in 1984 by Mystic Seaport – of still images of the sport that capture the grace and action of a bygone era. The America’s Cup races, starting in 1920, were exhaustively covered by the Rosenfelds. As a family of photographers, they quickly became a part of the America’s Cup tradition. The respect they received from some of the greatest yachtsmen of the day gave them unusually close access to the races, and the result is a remarkably dynamic and often intimate view of the sport.

Comprising nearly one million photographs, the Rosenfeld Collection is the largest single collection of maritime photography in the world. Images are captured in a variety of formats, from glass plate negatives to color transparencies, and from glossy prints to photographic murals. The collection represents the evolution of photographic technology and developments in the maritime industry over the last century. You can view select images of the Rosenfeld Collection at www.rosenfeldcollection.com.

Also inducted were naval architects John G. Alden and W. Starling Burgess. Mystic Seaport is fortunate to have many of the Burgess yacht designs in the ships plans collection.

Congratulations to all the inductees!

2013 National Sailing Hall of Fame Inductees (alphabetical list):

John Gale Alden (Troy, N.Y./Marblehead, Mass.)*
Thomas David “Tom” Blackaller, Jr. (Seattle, Wash./San Francisco, Calif.)*
William Eastman “Bill” Buchan (Medina, Wash.)
William Starling Burgess (Marblehead, Mass.)*
Frank Willis Butler (Woodland Hills, Calif.)
Runyon “Runnie” Colie, Jr. (East Windsor, N.J.)
David Adams “Dave” Curtis (Marblehead, Mass.)
Timothea “Timmy” Larr (Oyster Bay, N.Y.)
Morris “Rosy” Rosenfeld (Budapest, Hungary/New York, N.Y.)*
Stuart Hodge Walker, M.D. (Annapolis, Md.)